New Page 1
Click for Public Health Clinics Click for Programs and Services
Click for Preparedness and Response
Click for Animal Care and Control
Click for Nursing Services
Click for Environmental Health Services
DPH Home > Programs & Services > Traffic S.A.F.E. Program
logo link to dph homepage
Traffic S.A.F.E. Program
(Traffic Safety Awareness for Everyone)

Parents want to know, "What is the 'best' car seat for my child?" Answer: The "best" car seat is the one that fits your child, fits in your vehicle, and is the one that you will use correctly every time.

Motor vehicle crashes are the #1 cause of death and injury for children of all ages. The proper use of car seats, booster seats and seatbelts may be the most important thing you can do to protect your family.

Buckle Up. It’s the Law!

green bullet Children must be properly secured in the back seat, in a child restraint system that meets federal standards until they are 8 years old (Vehicle Code 27360).
green bullet Children who are at least 8 years old, and are under age 16 must be properly secured in either a child restraint system or a properly fitted safety belt (Vehicle Code 27360.5).
green bullet Drivers of passenger vehicles are required to wear safety belts properly and to have passengers 16 or older properly restrained by safety belts (Vehicle Code 27315).
green bullet Passengers 16 or older are required to wear safety belts in all motor vehicles; they may be cited as well as the driver (Vehicle Code 27315).
Why A Booster Seat?

Booster seats protect children who are too big for a car seat with a harness, but still too small for a seat belt. Booster seats help to position a child to properly use the vehicle seat belt. Seat belts worn incorrectly can cause serious injury to a child in a crash.
Booster seats are required for children up to at least 8 years of age, and who are less than 4 feet 9 inches in height.

Low-Cost Car Seat Program

The San Bernardino County Department of Public Health provides a free, one-hour car seat safety class for income-eligible San Bernardino County residents.

The class provides parents with a demonstration of how to safely transport children in a family vehicle. Participants are shown how to select and install the proper car seat or booster seat, and learn about the California laws that apply. Classes are offered each month in English and in Spanish.

Income-eligible families who attend a car seat safety class may purchase any of the following low-cost car seats:

green bullet Convertible seat, or
green bullet Combination seat

Violator Intervention Program (V.I.P.)

The Traffic SAFE program also provides a class for people who have been fined for violating California buckle-up laws. The violator intervention class takes 3-hours to complete, and is offered in English and Spanish. There is a $50 fee for the class. Participants who successfully complete the class are issued a certificate to satisfy the court-ordered requirement.

Instructor Training

The staff members in the Traffic SAFE program are Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians. They have successfully completed the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NTHSA) comprehensive course on child passenger safety.


To get a class schedule and register, call the San Bernardino County Department of Public Health toll-free telephone number: 1 (800) 782-4264 Please be prepared to answer questions that will help the Child Passenger Safety Technicians to select the proper seat for your child, including:
green bullet Child’s age, height and weight
green bullet Year and type of vehicle
green bullet Type of seat belt system in vehicle


$35.00 Convertible Car Seat, Combination Seat, or Hi-Back Booster Seat

$50.00 Violator Class


Belt Safe U.S.A. is a national non-profit organization established in 1980, solely dedicated to child passenger safety.
photo of child is car safety seat